Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) secured a thrilling 27-run victory over Chennai Super Kings (CSK), ensuring their qualification for the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 playoffs. The electrifying match, held at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, saw the intensity reach fever pitch with CSK needing 17 runs off the final over to keep their playoff hopes alive.

Yash Dayal stepped up for RCB, commencing the over with a full toss that MS Dhoni dispatched for a massive 110-meter six over fine-leg. The stadium erupted as the legendary Dhoni seemed ready to take CSK across the finish line. Dayal adjusted his pace for the second delivery, delivering a slower ball that Dhoni attempted to send over square-leg, only to find the fielder in the deep who secured the catch. Shardul Thakur missed the third ball but managed a single off the fourth, bringing Ravindra Jadeja on strike with 10 runs needed off the last two deliveries. Dayal kept his calm, delivering two excellent slower balls, thwarting CSK’s attempts and propelling RCB into the playoffs.

The match had all the ingredients of a high-stakes IPL game, with both teams’ fortunes hanging in the balance. CSK won the toss and opted to bowl first, setting the stage for a crucial encounter. The Chinnaswamy pitch, known for high scores, promised an exciting contest.

RCB’s innings got off to a blistering start with Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis taking the fight to the CSK bowlers. Kohli’s audacious flick off Tushar Deshpande for a six was a highlight, and by the end of three overs, RCB had raced to 31 for no loss. However, a sudden downpour interrupted play, causing a brief halt. Fortunately for the fans, it was just a passing shower, and play resumed without any overs lost.

Post-resumption, the conditions became tougher for batting. CSK introduced their spinners, with the ball showing signs of grip and turn. This change in strategy slowed down RCB’s momentum, as they could only muster six runs in the following two overs. Du Plessis broke the shackles by hitting a straight six off Mahesh Theekshana in the last over of the powerplay. As the spin challenge continued with Ravindra Jadeja and Mitchell Santner, Kohli responded by smashing Jadeja over mid-wicket for a six in the ninth over and sending another soaring six off Santner in the 10th. His charge was halted when he was caught at long-on by Daryl Mitchell.

Du Plessis took charge, reaching his half-century with a flurry of boundaries off Jadeja. Rajat Patidar joined the fray, hitting Theekshana for an early six. However, du Plessis’ innings ended in unfortunate circumstances when a drive by Patidar deflected off Santner’s hand and hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end, leaving him run out for 54 runs. At 113 for three in 13 overs, RCB needed a late surge in the slog overs.

Join Get ₹99!


Patidar and Cameron Green orchestrated a remarkable partnership, adding 71 runs off just 28 balls. Their aggressive batting ensured that only one of the last seven overs went for fewer than 13 runs. Patidar scored 41 off 23 deliveries, while Green remained unbeaten on 38 off 17 balls. Cameos from Dinesh Karthik (14 off six balls) and Glenn Maxwell (16 off five balls) lifted RCB’s total to a formidable 218, leaving CSK needing 201 to secure their playoff spot.

CSK’s chase began dramatically, with Ruturaj Gaikwad being caught by Yash Dayal off the first ball. Glenn Maxwell, making an unexpected appearance as a bowler, capitalized on the situation. CSK lost their second wicket in the third over when Dayal dismissed Daryl Mitchell. At 19 for two, CSK found themselves in trouble.

Rachin Ravindra and Ajinkya Rahane sought to rebuild their innings with a crucial partnership of 66 off 41 balls. They maintained a balance of caution and aggression, ensuring the required run rate did not escalate. Both batters found the boundary regularly, helping CSK reach 85 for two in nine overs. However, Lockie Ferguson’s introduction turned the tide again when Rahane was caught by du Plessis for 33.

RCB seized the opportunity, putting a lid on CSK’s scoring in the subsequent overs. Despite a brief resurgence by Ravindra, who struck a four and two sixes to reach his half-century in the 12th over, CSK’s momentum was stifled. In a crucial moment, Shivam Dube was dropped by Mohammad Siraj in the 13th over but was subsequently run out in a mix-up with Ravindra for 61.

Ferguson struck again, dismissing Dube the very next over. The pressure mounted on CSK, and Mitchell Santner’s attempt to clear mid-off was thwarted by du Plessis’ spectacular catch. With 71 runs required off the last five overs, MS Dhoni joined Jadeja at the crease, hoping to conjure some magic.

Jadeja immediately signaled his intent, smashing a six down the ground. Despite scoring 13 and 15 runs off the 16th and 17th overs, respectively, CSK still required 35 runs from the final two overs. Ferguson bowled a beamer that went for runs, and both Dhoni and Jadeja managed to find the boundary. Jadeja’s six off the last ball of the penultimate over set up an exciting climax.

Ultimately, Yash Dayal held his nerve in the final over, sealing a memorable victory for RCB and leaving the Chinnaswamy crowd in raptures, as his careful, precision bowling in those final deliveries denied CSK the runs they desperately needed, confirming RCB’s berth in the playoffs.

By IPL Agent

💲Daily Check-In Free Bonus💲 💵 Sign Up & Login everyday to get free cash!💵 👉