WPL 2024: Shafali Verma Marizanne Kapp charge Delhi Capitals to dominant win over UP Warriorz

The Delhi Capitals have clinched their first triumph of the Women’s Premier League 2024, effortlessly overcoming the UP Warriorz by nine wickets on Monday. In a showcase of remarkable teamwork, Shafali Verma and Meg Lanning struck commanding fifties to chase down the modest target of 120 runs in the fourth match of the WPL 2024.

Under the floodlights at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the Capitals’ bowling attack, led by South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and Indian spin maestro Radha Yadav, devastated the Warriorz batting line-up. The deadly duo snatched seven wickets between them, restricting the opposition to a meager total of 119/9.

The Capital’s opening batspeople, Meg and Shafali, responded to the challenge with a whopping 119-run stand, an emphatic statement that left the Warriorz bowlers scrambling for answers. This partnership was instrumental in Delhi’s assertive response to the target and highlighted the team’s potential in the tournament.

Having both faced defeats in their inaugural games of WPL 2024, UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals were desperate to add points to their tally. Capitals skipper Meg Lanning opted to field after winning the toss, showing confidence in their unchanged playing eleven. Meanwhile, UP Warriorz brought veteran spinner Gouher Sultana into the fray in hopes of strengthening their lineup.

Alyssa Healy, the Warriorz captain, launched an aggressive start by hammering two boundaries off Shikha Pandey in the second over. But it was Kapp who delivered an outstanding spell, one that is bound to be remembered as among the finest in her illustrious T20 career. Kapp’s prowess was on display as she dismantled the top order, claiming a wicket-maiden over and dispatching the significant threats of Tahlia McGrath and Healy in quick succession.

In the wake of Kapp’s devastating opening assault, Radha Yadav stepped into the limelight, capturing four wickets with her cunning spin. Shweta Sehrawat fought valiantly for the Warriorz, scoring a resilient 45 off 42 deliveries to push her team’s total past 100, which, in the end, provided some consolation for the bowlers.

The UP Warriorz lineup was a mix of seasoned campaigners and exuberant talent, featuring Alyssa Healy (c & wk), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, and debutant Gouher Sultana. The Delhi Capitals Women countered with a formidable team of their own, with Meg Lanning (c), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Annabel Sutherland, Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Radha Yadav, and Shikha Pandey.

Delhi’s victory was a statement of their intent within the league, driven by disciplined bowling and an opening partnership that denied UP Warriorz any glimmer of hope. The collective effort by Kapp and Yadav, coupled with the batting prowess of Verma and Lanning, suggests that the Capitals are a team coming into their own, and their renewed confidence could spell trouble for the other contenders in the Women’s Premier League 2024.

Read More: 

Trending News