The Controversy and Clarity: Harmanpreet Kaur’s Close Call in the WPL Eliminator


Cricket has its fair share of nail-biting moments, and the Women’s Premier League (WPL) Eliminator between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore was no different. A heart-stopping incident featuring Harmanpreet Kaur, the captain of Mumbai Indians, left fans and players alike holding their breath.

Harmanpreet Kaur came to the crease after Mumbai Indians lost their second wicket, Yastika Bhatia, who succumbed to Ellyse Perry’s bowling prowess. But early in her innings, Kaur found herself embroiled in a run-out scare that prompted an intense scrutiny of the cricket rulebook.

In the pivotal eighth over of the Mumbai Indians’ run-chase, bowled by left-arm spinner Sophie Molineux, Nat-Sciver Brunt nudged a ball to short fine leg and signaled for a risky single. Kaur, ever the aggressive runner, dashed for the crease but realized she might not make it in time as wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh was in motion to dismantle the stumps.

With a dive that highlighted her commitment to the team, Kaur stretched to reach the crease. Her bat appeared grounded behind the popping crease initially, but as Ghosh broke the stumps, it controversially hovered in the air. The moment was fraught with tension as the decision went upstairs to the third umpire.

After multiple replays and deliberation, the verdict was in: Harmanpreet Kaur was not out. This decision hinged on the interpretation of the Marylebone Cricket Club’s (MCC) Laws of Cricket. According to the crucial Law 38.2, which deals with “Batter not out Run out,” there are specific clauses that save a batter from being adjudged out under certain conditions.

Law 38.2.1.1 states that a batter will not be out if they have been in their ground and have subsequently left it to avoid injury when the wickets are broken. Another clause, 38.2.1.2, specifies that the batter is not out if the ball has not touched any fielder before the wicket is broken after being delivered by the bowler. While both these specifications are important, it was Law 30.1 that came under the microscope in Kaur’s case.

This particular law defines when a batter is considered out of their ground. In essence, a batter is not out if any part of their body or bat is grounded behind the crease unless they have left the ground to avoid an injury. Additionally, Law 30.1.2 highlights that a batter is not considered out of their ground if there is a “subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of his/her person or bat, or between the bat and person” after having initially grounded past the crease line.

Due to Kaur’s initial grounding of the bat, followed by the subsequent loss of contact when the stumps were broken, she was deemed not out according to the laws. The decision was a relief for the Mumbai Indians, as their skipper continued on to steer the innings forward.

Controversies like this are not uncommon in cricket, where split-second occurrences can drastically change the course of a game. In situations such as these, the precise wording of the laws and their interpretations are vital. They not only maintain the integrity of the sport but also ensure fairness for all players involved.

Kaur’s reprieve added an electrifying buzz to the match as supporters and pundits dissected the laws and the on-field decision. In a sport often described as a “game of glorious uncertainties,” the enforcement of rules and the role of technology in decision-making processes cannot be understated.

In the end, Kaur’s survival at the crease showcased not just her determination as a cricketer but also the complexity and beauty of cricket, not only as a game of physical skill but also as one where knowledge of its intricate laws can be just as powerful.

Read More: 

Trending News