RCB Clinches Playoff Spot with Nail-Biting Victory Over CSK

In a thrilling encounter at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) secured their place in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 playoffs with a captivating 27-run victory over Chennai Super Kings (CSK). The excitement reached fever pitch as the game boiled down to the final over, with CSK needing 17 runs to guarantee their playoff berth. Yash Dayal stood tall for RCB and delivered under immense pressure, denying the visitors an entry into the playoffs.

The last over began with a sense of anticipation as Dayal ran in to bowl to the iconic MS Dhoni. The first delivery was a full toss, and Dhoni didn’t miss the opportunity, smashing it over fine-leg for a gigantic 110-meter six. However, Dayal composed himself and delivered a slower second ball, which Dhoni attempted to loft over square-leg, only to be caught comfortably in the deep.

The drama continued as Shardul Thakur missed the third delivery, a shorter, slower ball. He managed to secure a single off the fourth ball with an outside edge, leaving Ravindra Jadeja to score 10 runs from the final two deliveries to replicate his heroics from the 2023 final. Yash Dayal held his nerve and sent down two excellent slower balls, preventing the big hits and ensuring RCB’s path to the playoffs. The match was a fitting climax to a day where the fate of both teams hung precariously in the balance.

The high-stakes game began in a virtual knockout scenario with CSK winning the toss and electing to bowl first. The condition was set: RCB had to win by a margin of 18 runs or more to progress in the tournament. Given the Chinnaswamy Stadium’s reputation for high-scoring matches, expectations were dialed up, but attaining a 200-plus score seemed challenging at one point during RCB’s innings.

The opening partnership of Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis was aggressive right from the start. Kohli set the tone with an audacious flick off Tushar Deshpande, sending the ball soaring over mid-wicket for a six. However, rain disrupted the momentum briefly after three overs with RCB at 31 for three. Fortunately, it was only a short passing shower and play resumed without overs being deducted.

Post-resumption, batting conditions seemed to have stiffened. CSK spinners capitalized on the grip and turn of the ball, restricting RCB to just six runs in the subsequent two overs. Du Plessis broke free towards the end of the powerplay, hitting Mahesh Theekshana down the ground. Kohli, too, started to counterattack, striking Ravindra Jadeja and Mitchell Santner for maximums. However, Kohli’s electrifying innings ended at 48 when he was caught by Daryl Mitchell at long-on after unsuccessfully trying to hit Mitchell Santner for another six.

Join Get ₹99!


Faf du Plessis continued the assault, taking on Jadeja to bring up his fifty with two sixes and a four. Cheered on by an enthusiastic home crowd, Rajat Patidar joined the fray, launching a six early in his innings. However, RCB suffered a setback when du Plessis was dismissed for 54 after a deflection off Patidar’s drive hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end. At 113 for three after 13 overs, RCB required a finale from their middle order.

The much-needed acceleration came from a blistering partnership between Patidar and Cameron Green. They added 71 in just 28 balls, showcasing aggressive hitting that pushed RCB above the 200-run mark. Patidar finished with a flamboyant 41 off 23 balls while Green remained unbeaten on 38 off 17 balls. Dinesh Karthik and Glenn Maxwell provided quickfire cameos, helping RCB post a formidable total of 218, leaving CSK needing 201 runs to qualify.

CSK’s chase had a rocky start as Ruturaj Gaikwad was dismissed off the first ball, caught by Yash Dayal at short fine-leg. Glenn Maxwell, brought in to capitalize on early breakthroughs, took another crucial wicket when he dismissed Daryl Mitchell. CSK found themselves at a precarious 19 for two.

A steadying partnership between Rachin Ravindra and Ajinkya Rahane ensued, compiling 66 runs off 41 balls. Both players kept the scoreboard ticking with a mix of caution and aggression. However, the introduction of Lockie Ferguson in the ninth over spelled trouble for CSK as Rahane was caught out by du Plessis for 33, halting the partnership at 85 for two in nine overs.

RCB capitalized on the opportunity to tighten their grip on the game, restricting boundary-scoring. Ravindra Jadeja then attempted to revive CSK’s chase, reaching his half-century with strategic hitting. Yet, the pressure told when Mohammad Siraj dropped Shivam Dube, though Yash Dayal soon ran out Jadeja in a mix-up for 61. Dube’s struggles ended in Ferguson’s next over, exacerbating CSK’s woes as Santner fell to a stunning one-hand catch by du Plessis.

With CSK requiring an improbable 71 off the final five overs, MS Dhoni entered to join Jadeja. Although Jadeja struck a six and CSK amassed 28 runs off the next two overs, the task ahead remained daunting. A crucial beamer and subsequent fours from Jadeja and Dhoni off Ferguson’s penultimate over set the stage for the final thrilling finish, which ultimately ended in RCB’s favor, courtesy of Yash Dayal’s superb death-over bowling.

This match will undoubtedly go down as one of the most exhilarating contests of the season, highlighting the competitive spirit and high stakes of the IPL.

Read More: 

Trending News