Pawan Negi’s ton helps Suresh Raina led VVIP Uttar Pradesh to win inaugural IVPL

In a thrilling culmination to the first season of the Indian Veterans Premier League (IVPL), VVIP Uttar Pradesh emerged as the inaugural champions, overhauling a challenging target set by the robust Mumbai Champions. A sensational performance by Pawan Negi, who blitzed a majestic 105 off 55 deliveries, steered his team to a spectacular victory in what was an edge-of-the-seat finale.

Mumbai Champions, who were put into bat first, showcased their might with the bat as they racked up an imposing total of 214 runs in their allotted 20 overs. The opening innings was a masterclass from veteran hitters Phil Mustard and Peter Trego, who both etched scintillating half-centuries to their names, scoring 76 and an unbeaten 57, respectively. Abhishek Jhunjhunwala chipped in with a valuable contribution of 36 runs, orchestrating a formidable total for the Mumbai team.

The daunting chase began on a shaky note for VVIP Uttar Pradesh, whose top order stumbled under pressure, leaving them at a precarious 45 for three. The fall of their captain, Suresh Raina, for a modest nine runs might have hinted at a swift capitulation for the chasing side. However, the course of the game was dramatically altered when Pavan Negi, coming in at number three, joined forces with Parvinder Singh. Their meteoric partnership spanning 113 runs in just over 11 overs was the turning point of the match, with Parvinder Singh contributing a gritty 51 before his dismissal.

Despite losing his partner, Negi continued his onslaught against the opposition bowlers, exhibiting a smorgasbord of powerful strokes and deft touches. His stunning display of cricket included piercing drives, monstrous hits, and clever nudges, keeping the scoreboard ticking and the spectators on their toes.

Accompanied by the stabilizing presence of Puneet Bisht, Negi carved his way through to an awe-inspiring century, which ultimately proved pivotal in VVIP Uttar Pradesh reaching their target. Negi’s innings was peppered with explosive boundaries and sixes, which not only enthralled the fans but also demoralized the Mumbai Champions’ bowlers.

The chase concluded in dramatic fashion with VVIP Uttar Pradesh overhauling the mammoth target in the final over amidst a crescendo of cheers from the crowd. Their victory was not just a testament to the individual brilliance of Pawan Negi, who rightly earned the player of the match honour, but also to the collective resilience and character of the VVIP UP squad.

For his consistent and marvellous contribution throughout the season, Pawan Negi also secured the prestigious Orange Cap, crowning him as the top run-scorer of the inaugural IVPL. His match-winning century in the final was a fitting end to a remarkable tournament where he was, undoubtedly, the standout performer.

The successful run chase in the final was reflective of the intensity and passion synonymous with the entire IVPL season. Throughout the league, fans were treated to vintage displays of cricket, with former stars of the game rolling back the years to produce exhilarating performances.

As the VVIP Uttar Pradesh team and its supporters celebrated their hard-fought victory, it became clear that the IVPL had provided a platform for veteran cricketers to not only showcase their enduring class but also to inspire the next generation. The stage is now set for the next installment of the tournament, which promises to be even more captivating, especially after the high standards set by this unforgettable first season.

Read More: 

Trending News