Mumbai Indians Triumph Over Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2024 Clash

The Mumbai Indians (MI) celebrated a resounding victory at their iconic Wankhede Stadium with a seven-wicket triumph over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). This victory marks MI’s fourth win in the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season, driven by an impressive century from Suryakumar Yadav and pivotal support from Tilak Varma during a key run-chase.

Adhering to the prevailing trend in the TATA IPL 2024, MI captain Rohit Sharma opted to bowl first after winning the toss, setting up a clash against a formidable SRH batting lineup. Notably, MI introduced the right-arm medium pacer Anshul Kamboj into their squad, while SRH brought back the seasoned Mayank Agarwal to strengthen their batting order.

The SRH innings began on a dynamic note with Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma going on the offensive during the powerplay, regularly finding the boundary and ensuring a brisk start. However, drama ensued in the fifth over as Kamboj came into the attack. Head showcased his intent with a six off the second ball, only to be bowled shortly after – but a no-ball call gave him a reprieve. Head capitalized on the free-hit with a four, followed by another assertive boundary. The partnership was broken just before the conclusion of the powerplay by Jasprit Bumrah, who removed Abhishek Sharma (11 off 16 balls) with a catch behind the stumps.

Kamboj made significant inroads once again in the eighth over by dismissing Mayank Agarwal, bowling him out to further dent SRH’s steady progression. The SRH innings encountered turbulence as wickets fell at regular intervals, with no partnerships blossoming beyond their opening stand of 56 runs. Travis Head’s dismissal for 48 in the 12th over was a major blow, leaving SRH struggling to consolidate their innings. By the 17th over, SRH had been reduced to 136 for eight, prompting them to bring in Sanvir Singh as an impact player to bolster the tail-end.

Pat Cummins’ vigorous batting provided a crucial boost in the late stages of the innings. Cummins lashed 35 runs off just 17 balls, punctuated by two sixes and two fours, propelling SRH to a competitive total of 173. The late 37-run partnership for the final wicket proved vital for SRH, offering their bowlers a defendable target. MI’s Hardik Pandya was notably effective, taking three wickets for 31 runs, alongside Piyush Chawla who also registered significant figures with three wickets for 33 runs.

Join Get ₹99!


The MI’s run-chase began aggressively as openers Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma racked up 26 runs within the first two overs, displaying initial dominance. However, SRH swiftly retaliated by removing Ishan Kishan, caught at slip off Marco Jansen’s bowling. The next over saw Rohit Sharma top-edge a delivery, caught by the wicketkeeper. Naman Dhir fell shortly thereafter, edging Bhuvneshwar Kumar to first slip, leaving MI in a precarious position at 31 for three in the fifth over.

Enter Suryakumar Yadav. Showing phenomenal prowess and an attacking mindset, Suryakumar anchored the innings, beginning with a boundary off Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Partnering with Tilak Varma, Yadav’s counterattack soon had MI regaining traction. The duo took the offensive to Pat Cummins in the sixth over, with MI ending the powerplay at 52 for three.

Suryakumar’s audacious approach continued unfazed by the field restrictions post-powerplay. In the seventh over, he took Marco Jansen for 22 runs, smashing two sixes and two fours to maintain MI’s momentum. What followed was a dominating display of batting as Suryakumar dismantled the SRH attack, providing no opportunities for them to stage a comeback. With Tilak Varma offering steady support at the other end, Suryakumar masterfully directed the chase.

It took Suryakumar merely 30 balls to reach his half-century. His subsequent 50 runs came in just 21 balls, featuring a barrage of spectacular shots. The victory was sealed in the 18th over when Suryakumar struck a mighty six off T Natarajan, not only clinching the match for MI but also reaching his hundred.

With 16 balls to spare, Mumbai Indians secured their victory, propelled by an extraordinary century from Suryakumar Yadav, reinforcing their prowess in the 2024 season of the TATA IPL.

Read More: 

Trending News