BPL 2024 Final: Comilla Victorians vs Fortune Barishal Pitch Report: How will surface play in Dhaka?

The crescendo of the ninth season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is upon us, setting the stage for a monumental showdown between the Comilla Victorians and Fortune Barishal. This climactic encounter will crown the champions of the 2024 tournament, with the Victorians vying for their fifth title, and Barishal aiming to rectify their near-miss in the previous season. The road to glory witnessed the Victorians dispatching the Rangpur Riders with ease in the first qualifier, while Fortune Barishal took the scenic route, battling it out through the eliminator and second qualifier to arrive at this momentous occasion.

Today, all roads lead to the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, where the finale is poised to unfold amid avid anticipation. The team line-ups boast household names in Bangladeshi cricket with the likes of Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, and Mahmudullah ready to take the field, turning this final into not only a battle for supremacy but also a showcase of national cricketing stalwarts.

With each delivery and stroke anticipated to contribute to the spectacle, the aspect commanding significant attention is the pitch—a factor that has played a considerable role in the outcome of the matches. The stadium has witnessed a trend in the last five encounters, revealing a distinct advantage for those bowling first as the initial swing favors the fielding side. As the match progresses, the conditions appease, with a more compliant ball meeting the bat, especially during the second innings. This has culminated in confident run chases, even seeing a formidable score of 186 being scaled effortlessly.

Delving into the statistical vault of the recent encounters sheds light on the run of play at this venue, where not a single instance of victory has graced the team batting first, compounded by the fact that teams setting the target have averaged a first innings score of only 147 runs. Comilla Victorians themselves demonstrated the ease of a chase, tracking down 186 runs efficiently against the Rangpur Riders.

As the anticipation builds, here is a look at the formidable squads lined up for the final clash:

Fortune Barishal Squad:
Mirroring a constellation of cricketing titans, Barishal’s arsenal includes Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Tamim Iqbal, who is set to captain the side, Soumya Sarkar, and the experienced wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim. The international flair is further accentuated with the presence of Kyle Mayers and David Miller. The squad rounds out with Mahmudullah, James Fuller, Mohammad Saifuddin, Obed McCoy, Taijul Islam, spruced with promising talents and seasoned campaigners alike.

Comilla Victorians Squad:
Sunil Narine’s wealth of T20 experience leads the Victorians’ array, complemented by the likes of Litton Das, who takes the dual role of wicketkeeper and captain. The batting might of Towhid Hridoy, Johnson Charles, and the all-round capabilities of Moeen Ali and Andre Russell further solidify the team. The youthful promise is evident in Mahidul Islam Ankon and the squad is complete with a mix of adept bowlers and strategic players who could tip the scales in their favor.

The stage is set for a thrilling conclusion to the BPL 2024. The question on every fan’s mind is whether Comilla Victorians will extend their dominion on the league or if Barishal will rewrite their destiny with a maiden victory. One thing is for certain, the Shere Bangla National Stadium is about to witness a historic cricketing battle that will be etched in the memories of players and spectators alike for years to come.

Read More: 

Trending News